It is common for guests to want to upgrade or downgrade their current membership for a variety of reasons.

Notes:

We recommend performing the upgrade/downgrade action on memberships with fixed expiry.

Upgrades and downgrades are only supported for recurring memberships. You cannot upgrade or downgrade a non-recurring membership.

To upgrade or downgrade a membership, the following conditions must be met:

  • The membership to which the guest wants to upgrade or downgrade must be defined in the current membership settings. (For more information, refer Set up Advanced Properties for Memberships.)

  • The membership to which the guest wants to upgrade or downgrade must be active in the org. (For more information, refer Modify a Membership.)

  • The membership and collection status must be active in the guest profile.

  • Upgrade and downgrade options must be set up on the membership master page (Advanced Properties). Upgrade/downgrade options will be displayed on the guest profile page accordingly.

  • The current membership and the membership to which the guest wants to upgrade or downgrade must be associated with the same sale center.
    Example: John has a Silver membership at the Bay Area, California center. He now wants to upgrade to the Gold membership. For this, the Gold membership must also be associated with the Bay Area, California center.

  • You can upgrade or downgrade a membership only in the center in which it was sold.

  • There should not be any pending invoices on the current membership.

To upgrade or downgrade a membership

  1. For the guest, open the Guest Profile page.
    The General tab appears.

  2. Click the Memberships tab.

  3. In the Membership column, click the membership to upgrade.
    The Membership Details page opens.

  4. Click Upgrade/Downgrade.
    Note: The button options are based on the upgrade and downgrade options set up on the membership master page.
    The Upgrade/Downgrade dialog box appears.

  5. Select the Type of transaction - Upgrade or Downgrade.

  6. Enter the date from which the change is effective. This date will be in the future. By default, this is set to the current membership's next schedule date.

  7. From the Upgrade To (or Downgrade To) list, select the membership to which the customer wants to move.

  8. From the Price of new membership options, select the price to apply. You can choose to apply the List Price or give the Discounted Price. If you choose the latter, enter the discounted price in the $ box.

  9. From the Upgraded By list, select the employee making the sale.

  10. Click Upgrade.

The customer has been moved to the selected membership. 

Using the Change option after upgrade/downgrade:

  • You can cancel the upgrade/downgrade process until the newly generated membership invoice is closed. Once the new membership invoice is closed, you cannot cancel the upgrade/downgrade process.

  • You can also edit the new membership to change the effective dates or select another membership for upgrade/downgrade. Price can also be changed.

Changes to membership details

  • Membership and collection statuses change to Upgraded/Downgraded.

  • Schedule payment will be set to NA. New recurring invoices will not be generated for the upgraded/downgraded membership.

  • A guest associated with an upgraded/downgraded membership is considered as an active member.

  • Status of the upgraded/downgraded membership changes to Expired if the expiry date is changed to a past date.

Actions on upgraded/downgraded memberships

  • Actions like Freeze, Waive, and Cancel cannot be performed.

  • Auto-renewal is not possible even if the auto-renew option is selected on the membership master page.

  • Transfer and undo of service credits can be done.

  • Benefits (service credits, discounts, credit amount, credit conversion, and special member pricing) can be applied till the upgraded/downgraded membership's expiry date.

  • Add-on members can be added.

Did this answer your question?